ISRO Chairman bags India Geospatial Leadership Award


Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh : Gen. V.K.  Singh, Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Development of North Eastern Region presented A.S. Kiran Kumar an award in ‘Making a Difference’ category – Maj Gen Dr R Siva Kumar (Retd) received the award for Lifetime Achievement

Rakesh Verma, Managing Director, Map My India awarded as Geospatial Business Leader – 2015 Greater Noida, Uttar Pradesh, March 3, 2016: The second day of Geospatial Conference 2016 in South Asia witnessed an award function. Big names from the Geospatial Industry received awards under various categories. The organizers of GeoSmart India 2016 conferred the awards and recognitions for exemplary innovations and practices in the Indian geospatial industry.

There were two categories of awards. The India Geospatial Excellence awards – based on independently judged nominations, submitted through an online process and the prestigious India Geospatial Leadership Awards – conferred upon Individuals, organizations and projects for their exemplary contribution to the Geospatial sciences, industry and fraternity. Gen V.K. Singh, Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Development of North Eastern Region presented the awards to the awardees.

Under the India Geospatial Leadership Awards, Dr. A S Kiran Kumar, Chairman, Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) received the India Geospatial Leadership Award 2015 for ‘Making a Difference’.

His one-year tenure as the Chairman of ISRO has seen several path breaking initiatives towards commoditization of space technology for socio-economic development.  His leadership has brought in a wave of positivity in the ISRO team, stakeholders, users and private entities.

In the other awardees under India Geospatial Leadership Awards category, Bhaskaracharya Institute for Space Applications and Geo-Informatics (BISAG), Gujarat was awarded for Capacity Development in Geospatial Technology and Applications. The state of Rajasthan was awarded the Leading Geospatial state 2015 under the Premier Geospatial State.

Under the same category, Rakesh Verma, Managing Director, Map My India was awarded as Geospatial Business Leader – 2015 and Maj Gen Dr R Siva Kumar (Retd) received the award for Lifetime Achievement.

Under the Geospatial Excellence category, Dholera Special Investment Region (DSIR), Gujarat and AECOM India Private Limited were awarded for Application of Geospatial Technology for urban planning and Smart cities.

The Indian Army was conferred the award for Integration of engineering support plan with GIS during armed operations. Punjab Remote Sensing Centre received the Application of Geospatial Technology in Governance award for their project ‘3G approach for Governance’ and National Dairy Development.

Board bagged the award for Internet Based Dairy Geographical Information System.The awardees were decided by the independent Jury under the Chairmanship of Dr. Sailesh Naik, Former Secretary, Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India joined by Ms. Bharti Sinha, Executive Director, AGI India and Lt Gen AKS Chandele (Retd), President, Defence Security and Public Safety, Geospatial Media as members.

About Geospatial Media and Communications Geospatial Media and Communications is an internationally accredited organization, having committed itself to serve stakeholders of geospatial community and work towards opening new era of industrialisation and productisation, while facilitating collaboration and demonstrating value and benefits of geospatial technology and information for governance, businesses and people.