Lalu held guilty sent jail, Political career Ends

lalu–          Fodder Scam

NA, New Delhi:

After held guilty in fodder scam RJD President and former Railway Minister Lalu Prasad Yadav was taken to jail on Monday. Before this special CBI Court of Ranchi convicted Lalu Prasad Yadav and 44 others in the Fodder Scam. Though the sentence for punishment will be announced on 3 October.

Along with Lalu Prasad Yadav former CM of Bihar Jagannath Mishra also held guilty in this case. Lalu Prasad Yadav was taken to Birsa Munda Central Jail after the vedict. Lalu was looking calm while coming out from court. He did not take any question from media as his car sped away towards the jail located at Hotwar on the outskirts of Ranchi.

Lalu who arrived in the court by a white Ambassador car was looking relaxed and waved to his party supporters.

Details of all the accused held guilty :-

Eight accused –  Vidya Sagar Nishad,  the then Cabinet Minister, AHD, Govt. Of Bihar;  Dhruv Bhagat, the then MLA & Chairman Public Accounts Committee; K.Arumugam, IAS, the then Secretary, AHD, Govt. Of Bihar and private persons i.e Smt. Bimla Sharma; Smt. Madhu Mehta; Smt. Shiv Kumar Devi; Shri Sunil Kumar Sinha & Rajesh Verma  were sentenced to undergo three years Rigorous Imprisonment with fine ranging fine between Rs.50,000/- to Rs.5 lakhs.All these accused persons have been released on provisional bail today. These suppliers had received fraudulent payment of less than Rs.15 lakhs in respect of the fake supplies made by them

The remaining 37 accused including Shri Lalu Prasad, the then Chief Minister & Finance Minister, Govt of Bihar; Dr Jagannath Mishra, the then MLA & Leader of Opposition, Bihar Vidhan Sabha; Shri Jagdish Sharma, the then MLA & Chairman of Public Accounts Committee; Shri  R.K. Rana, the then MLA; Shri Phool Chand Singh, IAS, the then Finance Commissioner; Shri Mahesh Prasad & Shri Beck Julius, IAS, both the then Secretaries, AHD, Govt. Of Bihar; Shri Adhip Chandra Choudhary, IRS, the then Commissioner, Income Tax, Ranchi; Dr. Kirti Narayan Jha, the then Regional Director, AHD, Ranchi; Dr. Krishna Mohan Prasad, the then Assistant Director, AHD, Ranchi; Shri Silas Tirkey, the then Treasury Officer, Chaibasa; Braj Nandan Sharma, then District Animal Husbandry Officer, Ranchi; Mukesh Kumar Srivastva, then Asstt Poultry Officer, Chaibasa; Gaya Prasad Tripathi, then M.V.O, Ranchi; Arjun Sharma, then Asstt Poultrry Officer, Chaibasa & Braj Bhusan Prasad, then Budget & Accounts Officer, Patna; Gauri Shankar Prasad, then D.A.H.O, AHD, Ranchi and suppliers i.e Ajit Kumar Verma, Prop. M/s Little oak Pharmaceuticals, Kolkata; Ravi Shankar Sinha, Prop. M/s A Traders, East Patal Nagar, Patna; Tripurari Mohan Prasad, Prop. M/s Bihar Surgico & Partner M/s Manas Sales Corporation; Sushil Kumar, M/s Samarpan Vet & Partner Samarpan House, Patna; Md Sayeed, Partner M/s Chotanagpur Cattle food Supply Co, Ranchi; Md Snaul Haque, Partner M/s Chotanagpur Cattle food Supply Co, Ranchi; Md Ekram,M/s Chotanagpur Cattle   Supply Co, Ranchi; Md Huuian,M/s Chotanagpur Cattle food Supply Co, Ranchi; Md Touheed, Prop M/s Shaad & Co, Ranchi; Vijay Kumar Mallik, Prop, M/s Mallik Enterprises, Delhi; Mahendra Singh Bedi, Prop. M/s Semex Cryogenics, New Delhi; Harish Kumar,Partner M/s Asian Breeders, Palam, New Delhi; Rajan Mehta, Manager, M/s Asian Breeders, Palam, New Delhi; Ajay Kumar Sinha, Prop. M/s Meeta Pharma, Patna; Sanjay Sinha, Prop. M/s Sanjay Sinha, Ranchi; Satendra Kumar Mehra, Prop, M/s Vishal Entrprises, Ranchi; Rabindra Kumar Mehra, Prop M/s Arke Enterprises, Ranchi; Sunil Gandhi, Prop M/s Magadh Distributors, Patna; Dayanand Prasad Kashyap, Partner M/s Baishnav Enterprises, Ranchi; Mahendra Prasad, Defacto Prop M/s S R enterprises, Nalanda, Bihar, have been sent to Judicial Custody.

Case History

The CBI had registered this case on 27.03.1996 in compliance with direction on 19.03.1996 of Hon’ble Supreme Court of India and took over the investigation of the case which was earlier registered by Chaibasa Police Station (Bihar) vide Case No.12/1996 dated 20.02.1996.’

After thorough investigation, chargesheet in this case was filed on 23.06.1997 against 56 accused persons, including then Chief Minister; then MLA, then Cabinet Ministers; IAS Officers; officials of AHD(All of Bihar Govt); IRS Officer; private suppliers & others, alleging fraudulent withdrawal of an amount of Rs.37.70 crores(approx.) from Chaibasa Treasury during the financial year 1994-1995 on the basis of forged & fabricated allotment letters and spurious bills, raised either without effecting the supply of any materials viz Vet. Medicines, Instruments (Artificial Insemination Ket), Yellow Maize and Ground Nut cake etc to District Animal Husbandry Officer of Chaibasa.

Out of a total of 56 chargesheet persons, 07 (Seven) persons i.e the then Regional Director; the then Director, AHD, Patna; the then Manager of Cattle Farm, Saraikela; two then both Cabinet Ministers; two suppliers expired during trial. Two accused i.e one supplier and one then Administrative officer of Animal Husbandry Department Patna were granted pardon after they disclosed the material evidence and were taken as approvers. One accused namely Pramod Kumar Jaiswal, Supplier confessed and was convicted during the trial of the case. One  accused, then Dy. Commissioner of West Singhbhum Chaibasa was discharged by the Hon’ble Jharkhand High Court on the ground of his conviction in another case for similar charges for the preceding financial year.